Week Four–One Month In…

This week Mara turned 7 months old. It’s been over a month that I’ve been back at work now and I can honestly say that I’m feeling good about it. I wish there was some way I could be at work and also be spending more time with my baby. But I’ve realized that, on the whole, I’m happy to be back at work.

One thing that really made me happy this week was a new thing I tried with students. I had pairs of students put up a solution to one problem from the sheet they’d worked on the day before with the instructions that they would not be presenting the problem so there had to be enough information up on the whiteboard for people reading it to follow along without being able to ask questions. Everyone grabbed a dry erase marker and did a reasonably silent gallery walk. Since it was the first one we’d done for the year I prefaced it with a discussion about what type of feedback would be good. One class did a much better job about giving thoughtful responses than the other, but I digress.

The part that was new was the last bit. I had students return to the problem that they’d written up on the board and read the comments with two things in mind:

  1. Look for any questions that classmates asked.
  2. Look for common themes in the comments.

As the final step I had groups share out the common themes they noticed on their boards. I really liked this because it got at some good stuff about communicating your ideas clearly and highlighted points of confusion while taking the focus away from simply getting the correct answer. We did talk about the correct answer in at least one problem in the end, either because a student asked about it or I brought up the fact that no one had made a comment about a certain mistake that was made, but it was not the focus of our conversation. Which was really awesome.

After we finished the activity I asked students what they thought about it. In both classes, the handful of students who spoke up commented that they liked it; that it was nice to think about their work in a different way. One kid from each class mentioned that they liked our “regular” debriefs too and I reassured them that we would still be doing those as well. I shared that what I liked about this activity was that it allowed everyone to share their thoughts, even the people who are less frequent speakers in our class conversations, and so each group got more feedback, from more people, than if we had just talked about their problem.

In the second class, one kid commented that “parts of [the activity] felt a bit rushed” and, just as I was acknowledging that I heard and appreciated his feedback, the announcement of our earthquake drill came over the intercom. I smiled and said “now you know why it was rushed!”

Leave a Reply

