Your Mission, Should You Choose to Accept It…

(Which of course you will, because you are my student and I have assigned this to you…)

Estimation Mission

IMG_20141030_142447

This is only one part of the wall–it extends from the first floor up through the ceiling of the third floor.

And since I teach in a private school, and therefore am not bound to the Common Core, none of my students are doing any of the following:

SMP 1-Making sense of problems and persevering in solving them

IMG_20141030_142200

SMP 3-Constructing viable arguments and critiquing the reasoning of others

IMG_20141030_143320

SMP 5-Using appropriate tools strategically

IMG_20141030_143902

SMP 6-Attending to precision

IMG_20141030_142431

SMP 7-Looking for and making use of structure

"How many little circles are there?"

“How many little circles are there?”

Kind of a double-meaning on that last one…making use of structure. Hah!

But seriously, although I don’t “need” to use the Common Core in my classroom, I choose to because I think these are good practices, and I support this movement to re-imagine what the math classroom should look like.

Leave a Reply

