All The Things: Made 4 Math

Holy hypotenuse, Batman! It’s been a while since I posted anything.

made4math_small

So, in one fell swoop…here are some of the things I’ve created for my classes over the past few weeks.

  1. Strengths Inventory–The math strengths side of this document came to me via my former colleague and still current friend, Nicole. I made the group-work strengths side as an add-on. I gave this to students to do during the first week of school and I plan on revisiting it at least one more time this trimester.
  2. Transformations Project–Adapted from a project done at High Tech High. I saw a presentation at Asilomar that got me all inspired to do this with my kids.
  3. Trig Warm-Up Problems–I put these problems up around my classroom for students to practice on; I stuck post-its with the answers on the back, so they could check their work. Then I gave each student an index card and had them record how many they were able to solve correctly without help, and with help.

 

For some reason scribid is turning my two page document for the strengths inventory into four pages. Grrr. Here is an editable version in Word.

One thought on “All The Things: Made 4 Math

  1. I know I am late to the party here, but thank you for posting about these! The Transformations project is especially fantastic. I have been thinking about ways to develop a more thematic approach based on topics or big ideas that students are going through, and this is a wonderful model. I particularly love the way you set up the “Artist Statement.” The more opportunities students have to connect their mathematics to things going on in their ever-changing lives, the better. Thank you for posting these.

    – Elizabeth (aka @cheesemonkeysf)

Leave a Reply

