It’s The End of the Year As We Know It

…and I certainly feel fine.

Tomorrow is my last day (with students). Today was my last day with one of my classes. I kind of hate saying goodbye in general, and it’s extra hard with this group of kids. I love this school. I love these students. I’m really going to miss seeing them and interacting with them and talking with them about math.

Today was also the day that I got my yearbook. Free yearbook for all staff members–heck yeah! I sent out an email blast to all of my former students to come by my office and say goodbye, and sign my yearbook.

A bunch came by after school today and wrote me a message and talked with me for a bit. I even got a hug or two. One student in particular cracked me up.

M. comes into my office, holding a copy of The Economist and waits patiently for me to finish talking with another student. When I finish he says:

“I’m not a big believer in displays of affection…but I would permit a hug.”

Too cute. There’s just nothing like a 15 year old boy asking you for a hug, is there?

Leave a Reply

