Happy Blog-thday to Me!

It’s the end of the school year and my apartment is a mess. This happens every year. But it always catches me by surprise. Just a little bit. There are papers on the coffee table. They look like quizzes. Not to mention books, a couple of math-related board games that need to be put away (in said coffee table) and a pile of unread magazines.

The dining room table hasn’t been used in weeks because you can’t see its surface. I made a heroic stab at cleaning yesterday–I put all of the camping gear away into the storage unit in the basement–and now there are visible spots of veneer. The table could probably be unearthed and eaten upon in the near future.

The kitchen is a disaster zone. I have been avoiding it all morning. Shush grumbly tummy, shush. And yes, it too is better than it was. There aren’t quite as many dishes piled up on the counter and overflowing the sink.

And the hallway. Oh, dear, the hallway. Sadly there’s not much we can do about that for several months. And it will only get worse. You see, the end of the school year is approaching. And for those of us who are changing jobs–which is 2 of 2 for this household–all of the teaching-related crap that has been living in our respective schools for the past nine months needs to come home. And there’s nowhere to put it (there’s a lot of it) other than lining up along one side of the hallway. I still haven’t even started bringing my stuff home. So it’s only going to get worse.

I have a sneaking suspicion that this sort of domestic disaster happens to many educators around this type of year. Am I right? Or am I the only teacher who uses the end of the school year as an excuse to neglect the cleaning?

So in the continuing effort to do something other than tidy up, I’m taking a moment to celebrate my blog-thday. Well, who can believe it? I’ve been doing this blogging thing for a year now.

That’s 46 posts, 79 comments, 3144 views, 42 subscribers (according to Google Reader). My busiest day was May 12, with over 200 views (201 counts as over 200). Coincidentally this occurred the day after Dan Meyer linked to my blog. Bizarre, I know.

I find myself wanting to write some reflective piece about how blogging for a year has changed me and impacted my teaching. But, I dunno. I’m not feeling it. Has blogging changed the way I teach. Not so much really. Which is not a critique of blogging. That’s not why I started The Space Between the Numbers in the first place. So why would I be upset about it?

Why did I start. Simple. I wanted people to read my sh*t. And one year in, it’s clear that that has happened. 62 people have viewed my story Checkpoint and 83 have looked at The Lemon Tree. Hopefully some of those people even read one or the other.

So maybe it’s not the best motivation for starting anything. But if I’m being honest, that’s why I started blogging one year ago. Give me a break, I’m a writer. Which kind of means I need readers to read what I write. Or at least that I want readers to read what I write. It’s something that goes hand in hand with producing any sort of creative work, I think. You want it to be seen, to go out and find people to love it as much as you do. Of course it’s damn scary to send it on its way, but that’s the Catch-22 of creativity.

But I have to say, again in all honesty, while I may have gone into this blog-o-sphere with somewhat selfish objectives, I have gained a lot more than just people who read my sh*t. I’ve made a lot of online friends, a couple of whom I even know In Real Life. I’ve been able to clarify and refine my own philosophy of education. I’m thinking of turning it into a manifesto. Stay tuned for that. I’ve started thinking about how I could use blogging inside of the classroom. I’ve even started Tweeting. I still have a hard time believing that I jumped on that bandwagon.

So what’s on tap for this new year? As mentioned before, my very own Math Ed. Manifesto probably to be released as part of Riley Lark’s virtual summer conference. A new school year…at another new school. So, you’ll get to experience my foray back into the middle school classroom. And my subsequent slide into silliness. That should be fun for everyone. Also, I’ll continue working on my short fiction. There should be another story being posted any day now. And maybe, just maybe, my apartment will get cleaned…

6 thoughts on “Happy Blog-thday to Me!

  1. This is the second notification of a happy return to middle school I’ve read in as many weeks (the other was an email from a former methods student). Middle schoolers deserve teachers who are happy to be with them. Congratulations!

    And funny about that Dan Meyer thing. I had a couple of similar 200ish experiences this year too. Someone should look into that.

  2. Great post. Happy Blog-thday!

    But good grief — I can definitely relate. At first I thought you might have placed a spycam inside *our* house. What a relief to know I am not the only one who creates a total end-of-year disaster zone around me.

    – Elizabeth (aka @cheesemonkeysf on Twitter)

  3. My house is a disaster all year. So no excuses.

    If not for blogging, we would likely have never met. So thanks for blogging.

    Last: Middle School!!!!! YEEAAAAHHHH!!!!!!!

    • You’re welcome Jason.

      And thank you for your early-on support of my blog. Having someone–someone I didn’t even *know*!–writing comments on my posts helped me to keep at it.

      I remember that first AIM event I went to. I was late and I sat in the back with Avery and spent the whole time looking around the room thinking “is that person Jason? is that person?” I am very glad that I met you. And that we’ll both (all three including Avery) be at middle schools next year. Whoo hoo!

Leave a Reply

