NaNoWriMo

It’s November 1st. And we all know what that means…

It’s National Novel Writing Month! (Or NaNoWriMo for short.)

This is my first year participating in the month-long slog to 50,000 words. I have an idea; I have a laptop; and I have just enough insanity to think that this is an achievable goal.

50,000 words. In 30 days. It comes out to approximately 1,667 words each day. The focus of the NaNoWriMo endeavor is quantity, not quality. This is a chance to tell the inner editor to go f*#$ himself and come back in 29 days. For one month the only thing that matters is how many words you have on the page. 

Basically, I’m following the advice of the NaNoWriMo team: tell everyone you know that you’re writing a novel this month. That way, when you feel like quitting, the thought of the humiliation you’ll endure telling all of your friends, relatives, and random people online that you didn’t make it will shame  motivate you to continue.

With one day down, I am still on track. Yay! I’m hoping that you folks out there can help me stay motivated and accountable. The occasional e-poke to ask me how things are going…or to post my word count…or to ask if I’m still (relatively) sane would be greatly appreciated.

Writing Stats:

Total days: 1

Total words: 1,737

One thought on “NaNoWriMo

Leave a Reply

