The Space Between the Jobs

I am writing this in the last weekend before the last week of school at my current job. Looking ahead to summer vacation, and further, to my new job (!), is both exciting as hell and is leaving me with a case of “I-suck-itis”.

This year has been…challenging. For the first time in my three-year career I was back at the same school where I taught the year before–I have been kicked around by the California budget crisis quite a bit since I moved here two years ago. Going into this year I imagined that continuing at a school would be dramatically different than starting over somewhere new. It would be easier. Things would go more smoothly. My professional growth would be obvious. I would be able to see how much I had improved over the past few years.

Well…not so much. At least, not as much as I had imagined.

Despite the doldrums, I have learned a lot about myself and what I find important:

  • It is incredibly hard to work in a school where my vision is not supported by my administration.
  • I want to work with a team of people who are actively working on implementing a major goal not just maintaining status quo/tweaking things.
  • I need to work on moving towards practice that complements my beliefs rather than conflicting with it (e.g. SBG).
  • Building community in a classroom is vitally important if I don’t want to fight things out on a day-by-day basis with a class that just “never gels”.

The great thing is, I believe that I will have success at addressing all of these points at the school I will join in August. I feel extrodinarily lucky to be in this position.

Leave a Reply

